Speaker: Prof. Nikolay V. Vitanov Sofia University, Bulgaria

Gathering - 12:30

Lecture – 13:00-14:00

Auditorium 011, Engineering Class Room Building, Faculty of Engineering, Tel-Aviv University


The technique of composite pulses replaces the single pulse used traditionally for driving a two-state quantum transition by a sequence of pulses with suitably chosen phases, which are used as control parameters for shaping the excitation profile in a desired manner.

Composite pulses produce unitary operations, which combine very high fidelity with robustness to parameter variations. We have developed a pool of composite pulses by using a novel SU(2) approach to design recipes for construction of single-qubit operations, including broadband, narrowband and passband pulses, universal composite pulses, composite adiabatic passage and composite STIRAP, some of which have already been demonstrated in experiments with doped solids. We have also designed efficient and robust composite techniques for construction of highly entangled states, e.g. Dicke and NOON states, and multi-qubit gates, e.g. C-phase, Toffoli, and generally C$^N$-phase gates. In this talk I will also describe applications of the idea of composite sequences beyond quantum physics. These include composite techniques for control of light propagation in waveguides, polarization optics and nonlinear frequency conversion, including recent experimental demonstrations.


- PhD 1994 (joint doctorate Sofia University, Bulgaria and Aarhus University, Denmark)

- postdoc 1994-5 at Imperial College London with Peter Knight

- postdoc 1995-2001 at Helsinki Institute of Physics in Finland with Stig Stenholm

- Humboldt fellow at Technical University of Kaiserslautern, Germany with Klaas Bergmann

- since 2004: associate professor at Sofia University

- since 2010: full professor at Sofia University

- since 2014: corresponding member of the Bulgarian Academy of Sciences

- since 2015: vice-rector for research of Sofia University

- visiting professor on multiple occasions to Toulouse, Dijon, Orsay (France), Kaiserslautern, Darmstadt (Germany), Oxford, Imperial College (UK), Turku (Finland), Palermo (Italy)